Settling In and Recaps of Iceland

And just like that, another few weeks have passed and it’s time to write another post. As has become fairly normal, lots of new and exciting changes have happened in the last month or so, the biggest of which has been my recent relocation to Berlin! So, where do I actually start? About four weeks ago, I packed up all of my things and departed New York, en route to Frankfurt, Germany via Reykjavik, Iceland. Like I explained a few months ago, I decided to treat myself to a mini-vacation in Iceland, as I had to stop there either way for a layover. Although only two days in length, I think that that was the perfect amount of time, given that I just wanted to relax, enjoy some sights but not necessarily sight-see all day, especially as this was all coming only a few days after graduation, and I was still a bit tired from all of the events that had led up to the final festivities.

It turned out that that was exactly the best plan. During my time in Reykjavik, I went to the famous Blue Lagoon, as well as did some walking around in the city, including to the Hallsgrimkirkja, Iceland’s famous church. Although a bit pricey, the Blue Lagoon was also fully worth the price, as it was super relaxing and enjoyable. Definitely a great way to spend an entire day. Highlights of the trip in general included the amazing views, the nature and the yoghurt (look it up, its amazing!) Negatives included the general cost of everything (so expensive!!), and the weather (low 50s-60s only).

After my two days were up, I headed back to the airport and caught my morning flight to Frankfurt, where I met up with my uncle and his family. Staying with them for a few days was great, as I haven’t been able to see them since last June. After that, it was time to see my grandparents, who live approximately two hours away from my uncle. Following some days there, I headed off to Berlin, via a long distance train. That ride took about six-ish hours, seven if you include getting to my apartment.

So there you go! It’s now my third week here in Berlin, and all’s going great so far. My apartment mates are all quite friendly and nice, and the location of the apartment is really quite good. Work is also really interesting, and I’m learning lots of great stuff, both related to conducting business in the e-commerce sector and about marketing in general. Hopefully I’ll learn a ton more during my three month placement here, which I can in-turn then use during my studies at LSE, a year from now. But in the meantime, stay tuned to my blog because my adventures have only just started! My following blog post will focus on a trip I took last weekend. πŸ˜‰

PS: I’m officially letting the world know how awesome my (ex) boss back in New York, Sean Sherwood is! He believed in my ability to get into all of the graduate programs I ended up getting into, including LSE. Throughout my crazy last year at university,Β he remained persistent about me eventually gaining entrance, even when I tried to persuade him otherwise, which probably happened a couple times a week. So here you go Sean, you have officially made it to my blog! πŸ™‚

IMG_4405

Downtown Reykjavik.

IMG_4381

View from the main shopping mile in Reykjavik.

IMG_4388

Iceland’s most famous church, the Hallsgrimkirkja.

IMG_4394

Some of the best yogurt ever. It’s called Skyrr.

IMG_4418

Monument along the road, probably in reference to the country’s seafaring origins.

IMG_4444

The Blue Lagoon!

IMG_4464

More Blue Lagoon! What a wonderful to spend an entire day…

IMG_4378

Now who wouldn’t want to learn Icelandic by looking at those signs?

 

2 thoughts on “Settling In and Recaps of Iceland

Leave a comment